[Runequest] RQ3 - protecting another character from attacks

lev at rpgreview.net lev at rpgreview.net
Thu Sep 6 18:36:04 EST 2012

> Initial answer, yes. Specific situation...it depends.  A flying shield
> would not necessarily block the entire force of a given blow.  Physics is
> physics...inertia is inertia.  Just b/c it interceded does not mean that
> the shield would not be knocked back into the caster causing some to full
> damage.  That is an interesting concept, but expecting it to work 100% of
> the time or part of the time with 100% protection...I don't think so.   If
> a human interceded to take the blow, he/she is big, has a SIZ value, and
> as a hero might stop the occasional blow.  A shield has a very small siz
> and may end up hitting others as physics dictates. Just my opinion. My
> best,Mark

An easy application on that it to apply the knockback rules, using the SIZ
of the shield as a base plus any STR that has been granted to the

I can imagine it spinning out of control, just the same - but at least it
would absorb the blow!

All the best, Lev

More information about the Runequest mailing list