[Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 30, Issue 3

Peter Maranci pmaranci at gmail.com
Thu Nov 4 02:14:28 EST 2010


I've never heard of a RuneQuest 11, although I'm religiously avoiding
Mongoose RQ - for all I know, Stafford could have authorized them to publish
RuneQuest 1,000,000.

But I suspect that you're talking about RuneQuest II, that is, RQ2 in Roman
numerals. Does that make sense to you?

->Peter

On Wed, Nov 3, 2010 at 6:25 AM, harry woolley <harryw1602 at yahoo.co.uk>wrote:

> hi there guys and the odd girl.
> can any body explain to me why there is a runequest 11 as ther is 3 and 4
> do the new additions  not inprove on the ones before,should it not be called
> 5 as it is a inproved version,
> i was only a infantry so could you core men explain,thanks.
>
> harry the DM
>
> --- On *Tue, 2/11/10, runequest-request at rpgreview.net <
> runequest-request at rpgreview.net>* wrote:
>
>
> From: runequest-request at rpgreview.net <runequest-request at rpgreview.net>
> Subject: Runequest Digest, Vol 30, Issue 3
> To: runequest at rpgreview.net
> Date: Tuesday, 2 November, 2010, 22:17
>
> Send Runequest mailing list submissions to
>     runequest at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest@rpgreview.net>
>
> To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
>     http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
> or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
>     runequest-request at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest-request@rpgreview.net>
>
> You can reach the person managing the list at
>     runequest-owner at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest-owner@rpgreview.net>
>
> When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> than "Re: Contents of Runequest digest..."
>
>
> Today's Topics:
>
>    1. Re: Runequest Digest, Vol 30, Issue 2 (harry woolley)
>    2. Re: HeroQuests... (Simon Phipp)
>
>
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> Message: 1
> Date: Tue, 2 Nov 2010 18:57:27 +0000 (GMT)
> From: harry woolley <harryw1602 at yahoo.co.uk<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=harryw1602@yahoo.co.uk>
> >
> To: runequest at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest@rpgreview.net>
> Subject: Re: [Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 30, Issue 2
> Message-ID: <440124.98204.qm at web27507.mail.ukl.yahoo.com<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=440124.98204.qm@web27507.mail.ukl.yahoo.com>
> >
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
>
> i guys ive just put all my pathfinder stuff on ebay i liked it but i miss
> my runequest to much so any body wants it cheep just go to role play and
> type in path finder and see how cheap it realy is.
> ????????????????????? harry p.s.
> ????????????????? my dragon mountain in runequest is still going great they
> have reached the foot of the mountain,but the village is under attack from
> the kobolts,and lots off other nastys i can think of let you know what
> happens and some new pictures.
>
> --- On Tue, 2/11/10, runequest-request at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest-request@rpgreview.net><
> runequest-request at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest-request@rpgreview.net>>
> wrote:
>
>
> From: runequest-request at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest-request@rpgreview.net><
> runequest-request at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest-request@rpgreview.net>
> >
> Subject: Runequest Digest, Vol 30, Issue 2
> To: runequest at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest@rpgreview.net>
> Date: Tuesday, 2 November, 2010, 1:00
>
>
> Send Runequest mailing list submissions to
> ??? runequest at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest@rpgreview.net>
>
> To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
> ??? http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
> or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
> ??? runequest-request at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest-request@rpgreview.net>
>
> You can reach the person managing the list at
> ??? runequest-owner at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest-owner@rpgreview.net>
>
> When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> than "Re: Contents of Runequest digest..."
>
>
> Today's Topics:
>
> ???1. Re: Runequest Digest, Vol 30, Issue 1 (Hola Hallo)
> ???2. Re: Runequest Digest, Vol 30, Issue 1 (Lev Lafayette)
>
>
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> Message: 1
> Date: Mon, 1 Nov 2010 12:43:23 +0100
> From: Hola Hallo <easysamurai at gmail.com<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=easysamurai@gmail.com>
> >
> To: runequest at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest@rpgreview.net>
> Subject: Re: [Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 30, Issue 1
> Message-ID:
> ??? <AANLkTimOaMj=CDqkMcoGcLTmsSb2L-eKNof4qdc7NVhv at mail.gmail.com<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=CDqkMcoGcLTmsSb2L-eKNof4qdc7NVhv@mail.gmail.com>
> >
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
>
> Hi,
>
> Your campaign looks very interesting.
>
> I've only recently run my first heroquest in my RQ3 campaign, and it was a
> "this-world heroquest", as described in the Sartar book (it was actually
> the
> River Ritual described in Sun County). That means that the power of the
> heroplane is invoked on the mundane plane, so everything happens in the
> mundane plane.
>
> I'm still not sure how to handle a heroquest in the heroplane with RQ3, but
> I guess it shouldn't be that difficult. I'd say the magic that does not fit
> with the main character of the myth is harder to cast for PCs, and enemies
> are usually very powerful. In your case, you will have to decide who is
> more
> likely to play the part of Yelmalio and what part do the other PCs play. If
> they are not Yelmalio worshippers, they may have a penalty to their skills
> (maybe one can be Yelmalio's spear, another one his shield, etc.). When
> Zorak Zoran appears, of course his trolls will be able to cast all his
> magic
> normally, and the main character (Yelmalio) will have a penalizer to fight
> against Zorak Zoran, as in the myth he loses. I mean, it has to be hard to
> change the course of a myth, even more so in the case of the Hill of Gold
> within uz lands!
>
> I once read on the Glorantha mailing list, that if one heroquester changes
> the usual course of a given myth does not mean that the myth changes for
> everyone in the world. Only when everyone starts reenacting the myth in
> another way does the myth change universally (in your case, Yelmalio
> regains
> his power over fire). However, that can change in your Glorantha, and it
> probably should (to make a more epic finale). :-)
>
> At the very least, the player playing the part of Yelmalio would gain fire
> powers (and his companions would get some powers too).
>
> Do you keep a campaing journal?
>
>
>
> > ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> >
> > Message: 1
> > Date: Sun, 31 Oct 2010 21:39:31 +1100
> >
> >
> > Hi people,
> >
> > After a 3.5 year, 70 session plus RuneQuest (mainly III, a bit of AiG, a
> > bit of MRQI/II) campaign I'm nearing the end... The PCs have collected
> > the torches (c.f., Plunder) containing Yelmalio's Blood and are seeking
> > ingress to Redstone Caverns where they will empty the torches into fire
> > spirit and engage in the famous Hill of Gold HeroQuest, and regain said
> > powers for Yelmalio...
> >
> >
> > Now I've read a few ways to conduct HeroQuests using RuneQuest... What
> > are your recommendations?
> >
> > (I have a couple of weeks; a bunch of people trying to sneak into
> > Redstone Caverns is hard enough!)
> >
> >
> >
> >
> -------------- next part --------------
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> URL: <
> http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20101101/199b248d/attachment-0001.html
> >
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 2
> Date: Tue, 02 Nov 2010 00:01:55 +1100
> From: Lev Lafayette <lev at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=lev@rpgreview.net>
> >
> To: RuneQuest Rules <runequest at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest@rpgreview.net>
> >
> Subject: Re: [Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 30, Issue 1
> Message-ID: <1288616515.5705.21.camel at squirrel>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="UTF-8"
>
> On Mon, 2010-11-01 at 12:43 +0100, Hola Hallo wrote:
> > Hi,
> >
> > Your campaign looks very interesting.
> >
>
> Thank you!
>
> > I've only recently run my first heroquest in my RQ3 campaign, and it
> > was a "this-world heroquest", as described in the Sartar book (it was
> > actually the River Ritual described in Sun County). That means that
> > the power of the heroplane is invoked on the mundane plane, so
> > everything happens in the mundane plane.
>
> Sure, we ran through that scenario as well and like yourself I
> considered it HeroQuest invoked on the mundane plane... Sort of a
> "Practise HeroQuest" to use the language I've read elsewhere...
>
> > I'm still not sure how to handle a heroquest in the heroplane with
> > RQ3, but I guess it shouldn't be that difficult. I'd say the magic
> > that does not fit with the main character of the myth is harder to
> > cast for PCs, and enemies are usually very powerful.
>
> Well, I've found some rules and even some stats. The stats are pretty
> scary!
>
> Rules Here
> http://soltakss.com/hero2.html
>
> Hill of Gold
>
> http://www.soltakss.com/hog0.html
> http://www.soltakss.com/hog1.html
>
> Stats are here. Ouch.
> http://www.nikkeffingham.com/runequest/hog1.htm
>
> Variants on stations here
> http://adrr.com/hero/nine.htm
>
>
> >? In your case, you will have to decide who is more likely to play the
> > part of Yelmalio and what part do the other PCs play. If they are not
> > Yelmalio worshippers, they may have a penalty to their skills (maybe
> > one can be Yelmalio's spear, another one his shield, etc.). When Zorak
> > Zoran appears, of course his trolls will be able to cast all his magic
> > normally, and the main character (Yelmalio) will have a penalizer to
> > fight against Zorak Zoran, as in the myth he loses. I mean, it has to
> > be hard to change the course of a myth, even more so in the case of
> > the Hill of Gold within uz lands!
>
> We have, as YGWV, some vary strange variations. There is of course the
> Yelmalio Priest who is the head-honcho of the quest... But there is also
> a Agimori Lodril initiate who has come along to help... A rebellious
> trollkin shaman who has a highly distorted version of Black Sun worship
> (he understands that he has to protect his brother's back, where he
> can't see), plus his close supporter, an Adept Dark Elf, who thinks that
> the Hill of Gold (being a forest in the darkness) has lacked the input
> of mushrooms over the years..
>
> As an added twist, an Eurmal Priest (yes, as ordained by an Orlanthi
> Priest), is coming along to take over from the role of Orlanth!
>
> > I once read on the Glorantha mailing list, that if one heroquester
> > changes the usual course of a given myth does not mean that the myth
> > changes for everyone in the world. Only when everyone starts
> > reenacting the myth in another way does the myth change universally
> > (in your case, Yelmalio regains his power over fire). However, that
> > can change in your Glorantha, and it probably should (to make a more
> > epic finale). :-)
> >
>
> That's correct, I read it that way as well. The HQ changes the present.
> The only people who had the ability to do major changes in the past were
> the Godlearners...
>
> > At the very least, the player playing the part of Yelmalio would gain
> > fire powers (and his companions would get some powers too).
>
> At the very least indeed... They're aiming to return fire powers back to
> Yelmalio!
>
> > Do you keep a campaing journal?
>
> Sure do:
>
> http://mimesisrpg.com/mailman/listinfo/runequestprax_mimesisrpg.com
>
> Enjoy! And thanks for your comments!
>
>
> Lev
>
>
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> _______________________________________________
> Runequest mailing list
> Runequest at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=Runequest@rpgreview.net>
> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>
>
> End of Runequest Digest, Vol 30, Issue 2
> ****************************************
>
>
>
>
> -------------- next part --------------
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> URL: <
> http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20101102/dfb69f2a/attachment-0001.html
> >
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 2
> Date: Tue, 2 Nov 2010 15:17:37 -0700 (PDT)
> From: Simon Phipp <soltakss at yahoo.com<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=soltakss@yahoo.com>
> >
> To: runequest at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=runequest@rpgreview.net>
> Subject: Re: [Runequest] HeroQuests...
> Message-ID: <49839.20389.qm at web51008.mail.re2.yahoo.com<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=49839.20389.qm@web51008.mail.re2.yahoo.com>
> >
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="utf-8"
>
>
>
> I couldn't stay away from this thread ...
>
> Lev Lafayette:
> > After a 3.5 year, 70 session plus RuneQuest (mainly III, a bit of AiG, a
> > bit of MRQI/II) campaign I'm nearing the end... The PCs have collected
> > the torches (c.f., Plunder) containing Yelmalio's Blood and are seeking
> > ingress to Redstone Caverns where they will empty the torches into fire
> > spirit and engage in the famous Hill of Gold HeroQuest, and regain said
> > powers for Yelmalio...
>
>
> Sounds good to me.
>
> > Now I've read a few ways to conduct HeroQuests using RuneQuest... What
> > are your recommendations?
>
> 1. Don't get too rules-heavy, HeroQuests should be fast and free-flowing
> 2. Concentrate on the Story/Myth not on the gaining of abilities/powers
> 3. Introduce weird stuff to throw the players off their game
> 4. Don't just stick to the myth - all myths have parts that few people know
> and
> many myths have several different forms
> 5. Don't be afraid to gross things up - no matter what you can think of the
>
> HeroPlane/GodPlane should be grosser
> 6. The stats on Nick's page, my page and those in Elder Secrets/Lords of
> Terror
> are good guidelines for powerful enemies/combatants, but there are also
> weaker
> foes on the Hero Plane.
> 7. Don't get too hung up on terms, they are useful in that they define
> things
> but can be too cumbersome
> 8. Don't say "You can't", say "You might be able to, but it could be
> tricky"
> 9. Decide on the power levels that you want to use. If you are making
> god-changing changes then the scenario/heroquest should be difficult and
> dangerous
> 10. Allow special powers/abilities to be used creatively and inventively.
> If
> someone wants to use their Mighty Fart ability to fly over a wall then let
> them.
> 11. Have an idea of the scale of the reward at the end of the HeroQuest. If
> you
> are changing a god then you might want to create a subcult that houses the
> new
> powers rather than immediately granting them to the whole cult.
>
> Hola Hallo:
>
> > I've only recently run my first heroquest in my RQ3 campaign, and it was
> a
> > "this-world heroquest", as described in the Sartar book (it was actually
> the
> > River Ritual described in Sun County). That means that the power of the
> > heroplane is invoked on the mundane plane, so everything happens in the
> > mundane plane.
>
>
> That's a good little Quest to do to start off with. The Myth is simple, the
>
> scope is limited and the rewards can vary. The River Voices in my campaign
> have
> done this 3 times as the Questors and once as enemies to Sun Domer
> Questors.
> They gained Kinope as a year-wife twice in a row and gained some more River
>
> Voice abilities the other time. By becoming more marital, they have
> empowered
> and armed the Zola Fel, thus changing the balance of the river folk.
>
> > I'm still not sure how to handle a heroquest in the heroplane with RQ3,
> but
> > I guess it shouldn't be that difficult. I'd say the magic that does not
> fit
> > with the main character of the myth is harder to cast for PCs, and
> enemies
> > are usually very powerful. In your case, you will have to decide who is
> more
> > likely to play the part of Yelmalio and what part do the other PCs play.
> If
> > they are not Yelmalio worshippers, they may have a penalty to their
> skills
> > (maybe one can be Yelmalio's spear, another one his shield, etc.). When
> > Zorak Zoran appears, of course his trolls will be able to cast all his
> magic
> > normally, and the main character (Yelmalio) will have a penalizer to
> fight
> > against Zorak Zoran, as in the myth he loses. I mean, it has to be hard
> to
> > change the course of a myth, even more so in the case of the Hill of Gold
> > within uz lands!
>
>
> That is true, but PCs can be sneaky and devious, putting odd people in the
> roles
> to trick the trolls. They know that Yelmalio is going to lose, so the
> trolls
> will be over-confident. Stick a couple of Ever Burning Torches between
> their
> ribs and they'll soon change their tune.
>
> > I once read on the Glorantha mailing list, that if one heroquester
> changes
> > the usual course of a given myth does not mean that the myth changes for
> > everyone in the world. Only when everyone starts reenacting the myth in
> > another way does the myth change universally (in your case, Yelmalio
> regains
> > his power over fire). However, that can change in your Glorantha, and it
> > probably should (to make a more epic finale). :-)
>
>
> Possibly, it depends on the HeroQuestor.
>
> Gbaji changed the world instantly and permanently. The Trollkin Curse was a
>
> massive change that took hold immediately, but that was because he
> seriously
> injured a major deity. The Red Moon also had an instant effect on
> Glorantha.
>
> But, normal HeroQuestors will make small changes.
>
> The way I see it, these HeroQuestors make changes on the God Plane, but
> people
> can follow other paths instead. Following the new path will bring the new
> powers, following the old path will provide the old powers. It is only by
> destroying the old paths that the new paths become more attractive.
>
> However, it is up to the Gm to decide how he wants this to work.
>
> > At the very least, the player playing the part of Yelmalio would gain
> fire
> > powers (and his companions would get some powers too).
>
>
> Probably. Perhaps the Yelmalian would get access to the Amanstan cult of
> Zorak
> Zoran or could begin an Amanstan subcult of Yelmalio.
>
> > Well, I've found some rules and even some stats. The stats are pretty
> > scary!
> >
> > Rules Here
> > http://soltakss.com/hero2.html
>
>
> They are the rules that I use, too :-)
>
>
> > We have, as YGWV, some vary strange variations. There is of course the
> > Yelmalio Priest who is the head-honcho of the quest... But there is also
> > a Agimori Lodril initiate who has come along to help... A rebellious
> > trollkin shaman who has a highly distorted version of Black Sun worship
> > (he understands that he has to protect his brother's back, where he
> > can't see), plus his close supporter, an Adept Dark Elf, who thinks that
> > the Hill of Gold (being a forest in the darkness) has lacked the input
> > of mushrooms over the years..
>
>
> Now, that's an interesting mix.
>
> The Black Sun trollkin is an interesting idea and could allow the PCs to
> tap
> into the mystical side of the Quest - the Shadow of Yelmalio is a mightily
> powerful thing.
>
> > As an added twist, an Eurmal Priest (yes, as ordained by an Orlanthi
> > Priest), is coming along to take over from the role of Orlanth!
>
>
> Using the Eurmali as Orlanth is a typical trick - use a friend/ally as an
> opponent and that way the station can be staged/controlled. But, Eurmali
> are
> tricky and dangerous, so it's not without risk.
>
> > That's correct, I read it that way as well. The HQ changes the present.
> > The only people who had the ability to do major changes in the past were
> > the Godlearners...
>
>
> And Harmast, and Arkat, and Lokamayadon, and Gbaji, and the Seven Mothers,
> and
> the Red Goddess and ...
>
> > At the very least indeed... They're aiming to return fire powers back to
> > Yelmalio!
>
> If you are comfortable with that then go for it. It should be very
> difficult,
> though. Don't forget that HeroQuesting is "Achieving the Impossible", so it
>
> might be that the PCs might have to perform some impossible tasks in order
> to
> succeed.
>
> See Ya
>
> Simon
> -------------- next part --------------
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> URL: <
> http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20101102/f68825ee/attachment.html
> >
>
> ------------------------------
>
> _______________________________________________
> Runequest mailing list
> Runequest at rpgreview.net<http://de.mc275.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=Runequest@rpgreview.net>
> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>
>
> End of Runequest Digest, Vol 30, Issue 3
> ****************************************
>
>
>
> _______________________________________________
> Runequest mailing list
> Runequest at rpgreview.net
> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>
>


-- 
Peter Maranci - pmaranci at gmail.com
Pete's RuneQuest & Roleplaying! http://www.runequest.org/rq.htm
The Diary of A Simple Man: http://bobquasit.livejournal.com/
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20101103/3a9df29c/attachment-0001.html>


More information about the Runequest mailing list