[Runequest] my husband's books on sale on EBAY

Ken & Juliane Murphy booksfleamarket at yahoo.com
Tue May 4 17:07:50 EST 2010


Hi..I sell on EBAY and my husband is cleaning off his bookshelves to make room for more books. I have several on sale right now that may be of interest to this group. Feel free to take a look. My seller name is sarahmrkitty. Just go under advanced search and search under sellers. Thanks, Juliane

--- On Mon, 5/3/10, runequest-request at rpgreview.net <runequest-request at rpgreview.net> wrote:


From: runequest-request at rpgreview.net <runequest-request at rpgreview.net>
Subject: Runequest Digest, Vol 25, Issue 4
To: runequest at rpgreview.net
Date: Monday, May 3, 2010, 9:00 PM


Send Runequest mailing list submissions to
    runequest at rpgreview.net

To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
    http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
    runequest-request at rpgreview.net

You can reach the person managing the list at
    runequest-owner at rpgreview.net

When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
than "Re: Contents of Runequest digest..."


Today's Topics:

   1. Re: Time and Skill Increases in RuneQuest III (Bj?rn Are St?len)


----------------------------------------------------------------------

Message: 1
Date: Mon, 3 May 2010 09:36:40 +0000
From: Bj?rn Are St?len <stolenbjorn at hotmail.com>
To: Rune Quest mailgruppe <runequest at rpgreview.net>
Subject: Re: [Runequest] Time and Skill Increases in RuneQuest III
Message-ID: <BAY120-W1340E07CA06FFCEF5FA252BBF20 at phx.gbl>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="windows-1252"


When I encounter players that want to explore potential loopholes, or venture into general munchkinism, I tend to do one of the two:

A: I just give them what they want, and get on with the game. If they want to play power-characters, I'm not going to deny them that. Usually, I don't gear up the opposition acordingly either, so either they keep having fun, killing the odd antagonist without risk, or they grow tired of it, and stops abusing the rules.

B: I just say no, stating that I'm the GM, and I have the final word on any rules-interpretations, and if they have a problem with that, I'm open for a new dude in the GM-chair.



From: ahnen at hotmail.com
To: runequest at rpgreview.net
Date: Fri, 30 Apr 2010 08:13:17 -0700
Subject: Re: [Runequest] Time and Skill Increases in RuneQuest III



'Logically', it's more barbaric than dog-fighting and poses no threat to the participants...except the captured victim.

It's not worthy of an 'experience' check. 

Your powergaming may vary.



Date: Fri, 30 Apr 2010 09:14:47 -0500
From: styopa1 at gmail.com
To: runequest at rpgreview.net
Subject: Re: [Runequest] Time and Skill Increases in RuneQuest III


On Wed, Apr 28, 2010 at 7:24 PM, Wayne Shaw <shaw at caprica.com> wrote:

At 07:59 AM 4/27/2010, you wrote:

On Tue, 2010-04-27 at 13:02 +0800, Gary Sturgess wrote:
> On 27 April 2010 02:16, Phil Hibbs <snarks at gmail.com> wrote:
> > If you want to apply the training mechanic to POW, then there's
> > already a system for training stats. The rules state you can't train
> > POW, but you can ignore that if you want. I wouldn't want to replace
> > "you can't train POW" with "POW is ridiculously easy to train if you
> > have a Disrupt spell".
>

The training stats suggestion is the right yardstick for difficulty, but
I must wonder whether it is plausible that one's
spiritual/divine/essence connection is something that is trained or
rather experienced through epiphany.

Maybe POW training could consist of going out into the desert and
fasting for forty days and forty nights :)


When I allowed it, I considered it a guided medatation process.


I'm a rules-lawyer player myself, so I tend to want to close every loophole. 
As a player, personally I'd capture a trollkin or somesuch, perhaps something unintelligent but aggressive.


Then I'd set up a "fight club", with my well-armored and skilled friends spectating - "I want you to hit me, as hard as you can"...as needed, I'd cast disrupt until I succeeded.  Fight over, I step out if I'm still conscious.  I wouldn't kill the target (on purpose).


Sure, you can just deny it as a DM, but logically that it's not a stressful situation, nor that as a character I wouldn't feel 'at risk'.

                          
_________________________________________________________________
Hotmail: Trusted email with Microsoft?s powerful SPAM protection.
https://signup.live.com/signup.aspx?id=60969
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100503/e92a185f/attachment-0001.html>

------------------------------

_______________________________________________
Runequest mailing list
Runequest at rpgreview.net
http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net


End of Runequest Digest, Vol 25, Issue 4
****************************************



      
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100504/d9b3882e/attachment.html>


More information about the Runequest mailing list