[Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 12

Hola Hallo easysamurai at gmail.com
Tue Jul 27 19:04:08 EST 2010


Hi everyone,

In the end, I've just decided to let the player decide. What he likes best
is what is going to be.
On the one hand, parrying with a 1H-spear can look really cool and allows
for a 2nd weapon on the left hand (or a torch, if underground!). On the
other, parrying with a shield can be safer, but it's also heavy.

Thanks to everyone for your insightful opinions!  ;-)

EA.

2010/7/24 <runequest-request at rpgreview.net>

> Send Runequest mailing list submissions to
>        runequest at rpgreview.net
>
> To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
>        http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
> or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
>        runequest-request at rpgreview.net
>
> You can reach the person managing the list at
>        runequest-owner at rpgreview.net
>
> When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> than "Re: Contents of Runequest digest..."
>
>
> Today's Topics:
>
>   1. Re: Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 10 (Andrew)
>
>
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> Message: 1
> Date: Fri, 23 Jul 2010 19:32:56 +1000
> From: "Andrew" <bgecko at bigpond.com>
> To: <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> Subject: Re: [Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 10
> Message-ID: <001001cb2a4a$08b22430$0200a8c0 at userrw10mbti39>
> Content-Type: text/plain; format=flowed; charset="iso-8859-1";
>        reply-type=original
>
> Ultimately, this is a fantasy game.
>
> Real life doesn't apply to be honest. Otherwise I'd cast sureshot on every
> cricket ball I threw!
>
> If you aren;t happy with 1H Spear Parry, then don't use it. In my game,
> Spear parry is perfectly acceptable. If you are looking for a video
> demontration, then the final fight scene in hellboy 2 gives some indication
> of expert spear use (I and 2 H).
>
> My 2 cents!
>
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: <runequest-request at rpgreview.net>
> To: <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> Sent: Friday, July 23, 2010 2:52 AM
> Subject: Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 10
>
>
> > Send Runequest mailing list submissions to
> > runequest at rpgreview.net
> >
> > To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
> > http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
> > or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
> > runequest-request at rpgreview.net
> >
> > You can reach the person managing the list at
> > runequest-owner at rpgreview.net
> >
> > When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> > than "Re: Contents of Runequest digest..."
> >
> >
> > Today's Topics:
> >
> >   1. Re: Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9 (Hola Hallo)
> >   2. Re: Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9 (Phil Hibbs)
> >   3. Re: Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9 (Dale Long)
> >   4. Re: Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9 (Sven Lugar)
> >
> >
> > ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> >
> > Message: 1
> > Date: Thu, 22 Jul 2010 16:42:26 +0200
> > From: Hola Hallo <easysamurai at gmail.com>
> > To: runequest at rpgreview.net
> > Subject: Re: [Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9
> > Message-ID:
> > <AANLkTikxX-rajMorcbG9fU8y3c2y4sAhEu5BQNmvnXvO at mail.gmail.com>
> > Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
> >
> > Hi everyone,
> >
> > Thanks *a lot* for your replies!!!  [?]
> >
> > However, the examples you mention of parrying with a 1H spear don't seem
> > to
> > apply in the case of this character (please correct me if I'm wrong). For
> > example, Bj?rn has been kind to mention how there are historic precedents
> > of
> > parrying with a lance, but this elf character is basically going to fight
> > on
> > foot. Sven has mentioned his own experience, but parrying with his 1H
> > spear
> > was a desperate case. I mean, there doesn't seem be any precedent of
> > infantry being trained to attack *and parry* with a 1H spear. Therefore,
> I
> > think I'll go with Sven's suggestion of giving the charachter a 90%
> shield
> > parry instead. It just seems more logical for a god such as Yelmalio to
> > give
> > his worshippers proficiency in the spear-and-hoplon combat style rather
> > than
> > a weird proficiency in spear parry.
> >
> >
> >
> > 2010/7/21 <runequest-request at rpgreview.net>
> >
> >> Send Runequest mailing list submissions to
> >>        runequest at rpgreview.net
> >>
> >> To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
> >>        http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
> >> or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
> >>        runequest-request at rpgreview.net
> >>
> >> You can reach the person managing the list at
> >>        runequest-owner at rpgreview.net
> >>
> >> When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> >> than "Re: Contents of Runequest digest..."
> >>
> >>
> >> Today's Topics:
> >>
> >>   1. parrying with 1h-spear + hailing to the fatigue-rules based
> >>      on reacent experience :) (Bj?rn Are St?len)
> >>
> >>
> >> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> >>
> >> Message: 1
> >> Date: Tue, 20 Jul 2010 13:53:29 +0000
> >> From: Bj?rn Are St?len <stolenbjorn at hotmail.com>
> >> To: Rune Quest mailgruppe <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> >> Subject: [Runequest] parrying with 1h-spear + hailing to the
> >>        fatigue-rules based on reacent experience :)
> >> Message-ID: <BAY120-W268E76A1DA9D9F71FECF64BBA00 at phx.gbl>
> >> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
> >>
> >>
> >> I see the right answer has been given allready, I just want to join in
> >> and
> >> confirm that a 1h. spear is perfectly possible to parry with. Fiore di
> >> Liberi even shows how you can parry a lance-attack with your own lance,
> >> it's
> >> pretty much the same consept as when you do "winden" with longsword
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >> I'm just back from the re-enactmentbattle of Grunwald btw; here's a
> >> teaser
> >> from polish TV http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efgKl20UK-c (the footage
> is
> >> not from this year's event). This year about 500 000 were watching, and
> >> we
> >> were about 3000 fighters on the field, 80 mounted, some 20 cannons, some
> >> 50
> >> handguns, and some 100 archers on each side. The rest were fighting with
> >> polearms or 1h-swords. It was 42 degrees celcius when we fought, and
> I've
> >> now experienced in person how overheating is well reflected in the
> >> encumbrance-vs-fatigue-rules in RQ3!
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >> Date: Mon, 19 Jul 2010 10:43:44 -0700
> >> From: vikingjarl at gmail.com
> >> To: runequest at rpgreview.net
> >> Subject: Re: [Runequest] [RQ III] - Is it possible to parry with a 1H
> >> spear?
> >>
> >> Actually from the point of view of someone who has been fighting with
> >> Medieval Weapons since 1958 - Yes I can imagine it & have done it. I can
> >> tell you that the specific gift was added based on me & what I
> >> demonstrated
> >> during the writing of the game. Steve Perrin had watched a battle I had
> >> where I had lost my left arm during an SCA melee back in the mid-70's
> and
> >> proceeded to hold off 7 guys with just a short one-handed spear and
> still
> >> managed to take down 3 of them before my companions came up & finished
> >> the
> >> rest. Admittedly this was a very unusual case.
> >>
> >> So it is as you can see a very valid skill. All that being said if you
> so
> >> desire then you could rationally limit it to "90% to attack and parry
> >> when
> >> armed with 1H spear & Hoplon (cult) shield". It depends on your vision
> of
> >> the scenario. It would be far more common for the attack to be with the
> >> spear & the parry with the shield & thus the player would lose the
> >> ability
> >> if not armed specifically with the cult shield & spear. How do you
> >> envision
> >> it?
> >>
> >> Skol,
> >> Sven
> >>
> >> On 7/19/2010 1:53 AM, Hola Hallo wrote:
> >> Hi everyone,
> >>
> >> Last day my little brother asked me to create a RQ3 character for him.
> He
> >> is a fan of Link, of the Zelda videogames, so he chose to create a green
> >> elf. He is initiate of Aldrya and Yelmalio (Halamalao), and when he
> >> rolled
> >> for the Yelmalio gift, he got the "90% to attack and parry with 1H
> >> spear".
> >>
> >> But, wait a second, can you imagine someone parrying attacks with a 1H
> >> spear?  O_O;
> >>
> >> Should I change this for a 90% parry with shield?
> >> Or just take the 2H-spear-90%-attack-and-parry gift instead?
> >>
> >> What do you think?
> >>
> >> _______________________________________________
> >> Runequest mailing list
> >> Runequest at rpgreview.net
> >> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
> >>
> >>
> >> _________________________________________________________________
> >> Hotmail: Free, trusted and rich email service.
> >> https://signup.live.com/signup.aspx?id=60969
> >> -------------- next part --------------
> >> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> >> URL: <
> >>
> http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100720/b319e7ae/attachment-0001.html
> >> >
> >>
> >> ------------------------------
> >>
> >> _______________________________________________
> >> Runequest mailing list
> >> Runequest at rpgreview.net
> >> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
> >>
> >>
> >> End of Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9
> >> ****************************************
> >>
> > -------------- next part --------------
> > An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> > URL:
> > <
> http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100722/5d234107/attachment-0001.html
> >
> > -------------- next part --------------
> > A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
> > Name: not available
> > Type: image/gif
> > Size: 186 bytes
> > Desc: not available
> > URL:
> > <
> http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100722/5d234107/attachment-0001.gif
> >
> >
> > ------------------------------
> >
> > Message: 2
> > Date: Thu, 22 Jul 2010 16:07:28 +0100
> > From: Phil Hibbs <snarks at gmail.com>
> > To: RuneQuest Rules <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> > Subject: Re: [Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9
> > Message-ID:
> > <AANLkTikx3oxXK6k4jd90ue1yR5tZW-Y3Z-u7mZR9AF7K at mail.gmail.com>
> > Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
> >
> > Thinking mythically, I can see why a Gift might ignore the fact that
> > Yelmalion warriors use spear-and-shield. Circular shields represent the
> > sun.
> > If the rationale for the gift were based upon some myth from the Great
> > Darkness, then Yelmalio would not have had a shield at the time, as the
> > sun
> > was dead and so shields would be no use. Shields are used nowadays
> because
> > the Sun is back and can therefore be called upon, but myths can often be
> > out-of-date and anachronistic.
> >
> > Phil Hibbs.
> > --
> > Don't you just hate self-referential sigs?
> > -------------- next part --------------
> > An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> > URL:
> > <
> http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100722/0299f660/attachment-0001.html
> >
> >
> > ------------------------------
> >
> > Message: 3
> > Date: Fri, 23 Jul 2010 00:55:51 +0930
> > From: Dale Long <dtl at internode.on.net>
> > To: RuneQuest Rules <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> > Subject: Re: [Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9
> > Message-ID: <4C4862FF.4020107 at internode.on.net>
> > Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed
> >
> > On 23/07/2010 12:37 AM, Phil Hibbs wrote:
> >> Thinking mythically, I can see why a Gift might ignore the fact that
> >> Yelmalion warriors use spear-and-shield. Circular shields represent
> >> the sun. If the rationale for the gift were based upon some myth from
> >> the Great Darkness, then Yelmalio would not have had a shield at the
> >> time, as the sun was dead and so shields would be no use. Shields are
> >> used nowadays because the Sun is back and can therefore be called
> >> upon, but myths can often be out-of-date and anachronistic.
> >
> > Also note that spears and arrows are derived from the sun's rays (as
> > described in various myths).
> >
> > Dale.
> >
> >
> >
> > ------------------------------
> >
> > Message: 4
> > Date: Thu, 22 Jul 2010 09:52:08 -0700
> > From: Sven Lugar <vikingjarl at gmail.com>
> > To: RuneQuest Rules <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> > Subject: Re: [Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9
> > Message-ID: <4C487738.50908 at gmail.com>
> > Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"; Format="flowed"
> >
> > Thank you, it wasn't so desperate as it was unusual, but your point is
> > valid since it wasn't my first choice combination. Also remember my
> > suggestion was that the 90% shield parry only applies when the character
> > is armed with the cult shield (a Hoplon if I recall correctly) and 1
> > handed spear together. the 90% shield parry would not apply if he was
> > armed with the Hoplon and a sword, or a kite shield and a 1 handed
> > spear, or any other combination. That would fit with the whole Yelmalio
> > thing even though it adds a wrinkle of having to maintain two shield
> > stats or arbitrarily halving the shield parry stat.
> >
> > Skol,
> > Sven
> > On 7/22/2010 7:42 AM, Hola Hallo wrote:
> >> Hi everyone,
> >>
> >> Thanks *a lot* for your replies!!!
> >>
> >> However, the examples you mention of parrying with a 1H spear don't
> >> seem to apply in the case of this character (please correct me if I'm
> >> wrong). For example, Bj?rn has been kind to mention how there are
> >> historic precedents of parrying with a lance, but this elf character
> >> is basically going to fight on foot. Sven has mentioned his own
> >> experience, but parrying with his 1H spear was a desperate case. I
> >> mean, there doesn't seem be any precedent of infantry being trained to
> >> attack /and parry/ with a 1H spear. Therefore, I think I'll go with
> >> Sven's suggestion of giving the charachter a 90% shield parry instead.
> >> It just seems more logical for a god such as Yelmalio to give his
> >> worshippers proficiency in the spear-and-hoplon combat style rather
> >> than a weird proficiency in spear parry.
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >> 2010/7/21 <runequest-request at rpgreview.net
> >> <mailto:runequest-request at rpgreview.net>>
> >>
> >>     Send Runequest mailing list submissions to
> >>     runequest at rpgreview.net <mailto:runequest at rpgreview.net>
> >>
> >>     To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
> >>     http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
> >>     or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
> >>     runequest-request at rpgreview.net
> >>     <mailto:runequest-request at rpgreview.net>
> >>
> >>     You can reach the person managing the list at
> >>     runequest-owner at rpgreview.net <mailto:runequest-owner at rpgreview.net
> >
> >>
> >>     When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> >>     than "Re: Contents of Runequest digest..."
> >>
> >>
> >>     Today's Topics:
> >>
> >>       1. parrying with 1h-spear + hailing to the fatigue-rules based
> >>          on reacent experience :) (Bj?rn Are St?len)
> >>
> >>
> >>
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> >>
> >>     Message: 1
> >>     Date: Tue, 20 Jul 2010 13:53:29 +0000
> >>     From: Bj?rn Are St?len <stolenbjorn at hotmail.com
> >>     <mailto:stolenbjorn at hotmail.com>>
> >>     To: Rune Quest mailgruppe <runequest at rpgreview.net
> >>     <mailto:runequest at rpgreview.net>>
> >>     Subject: [Runequest] parrying with 1h-spear + hailing to the
> >>            fatigue-rules based on reacent experience :)
> >>     Message-ID: <BAY120-W268E76A1DA9D9F71FECF64BBA00 at phx.gbl>
> >>     Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
> >>
> >>
> >>     I see the right answer has been given allready, I just want to
> >>     join in and confirm that a 1h. spear is perfectly possible to
> >>     parry with. Fiore di Liberi even shows how you can parry a
> >>     lance-attack with your own lance, it's pretty much the same
> >>     consept as when you do "winden" with longsword
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>     I'm just back from the re-enactmentbattle of Grunwald btw; here's
> >>     a teaser from polish TV http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efgKl20UK-c
> >>     (the footage is not from this year's event). This year about 500
> >>     000 were watching, and we were about 3000 fighters on the field,
> >>     80 mounted, some 20 cannons, some 50 handguns, and some 100
> >>     archers on each side. The rest were fighting with polearms or
> >>     1h-swords. It was 42 degrees celcius when we fought, and I've now
> >>     experienced in person how overheating is well reflected in the
> >>     encumbrance-vs-fatigue-rules in RQ3!
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>     Date: Mon, 19 Jul 2010 10:43:44 -0700
> >>     From: vikingjarl at gmail.com <mailto:vikingjarl at gmail.com>
> >>     To: runequest at rpgreview.net <mailto:runequest at rpgreview.net>
> >>     Subject: Re: [Runequest] [RQ III] - Is it possible to parry with a
> >>     1H spear?
> >>
> >>     Actually from the point of view of someone who has been fighting
> >>     with Medieval Weapons since 1958 - Yes I can imagine it & have
> >>     done it. I can tell you that the specific gift was added based on
> >>     me & what I demonstrated during the writing of the game. Steve
> >>     Perrin had watched a battle I had where I had lost my left arm
> >>     during an SCA melee back in the mid-70's and proceeded to hold off
> >>     7 guys with just a short one-handed spear and still managed to
> >>     take down 3 of them before my companions came up & finished the
> >>     rest. Admittedly this was a very unusual case.
> >>
> >>     So it is as you can see a very valid skill. All that being said if
> >>     you so desire then you could rationally limit it to "90% to attack
> >>     and parry when armed with 1H spear & Hoplon (cult) shield". It
> >>     depends on your vision of the scenario. It would be far more
> >>     common for the attack to be with the spear & the parry with the
> >>     shield & thus the player would lose the ability if not armed
> >>     specifically with the cult shield & spear. How do you envision it?
> >>
> >>     Skol,
> >>     Sven
> >>
> >>     On 7/19/2010 1:53 AM, Hola Hallo wrote:
> >>     Hi everyone,
> >>
> >>     Last day my little brother asked me to create a RQ3 character for
> >>     him. He is a fan of Link, of the Zelda videogames, so he chose to
> >>     create a green elf. He is initiate of Aldrya and Yelmalio
> >>     (Halamalao), and when he rolled for the Yelmalio gift, he got the
> >>     "90% to attack and parry with 1H spear".
> >>
> >>     But, wait a second, can you imagine someone parrying attacks with
> >>     a 1H spear?  O_O;
> >>
> >>     Should I change this for a 90% parry with shield?
> >>     Or just take the 2H-spear-90%-attack-and-parry gift instead?
> >>
> >>     What do you think?
> >>
> >
> > -------------- next part --------------
> > An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> > URL:
> > <
> http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100722/a36fb297/attachment.html
> >
> > -------------- next part --------------
> > A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
> > Name: not available
> > Type: image/gif
> > Size: 186 bytes
> > Desc: not available
> > URL:
> > <
> http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100722/a36fb297/attachment.gif
> >
> >
> > ------------------------------
> >
> > _______________________________________________
> > Runequest mailing list
> > Runequest at rpgreview.net
> > http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
> >
> >
> > End of Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 10
> > *****************************************
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> _______________________________________________
> Runequest mailing list
> Runequest at rpgreview.net
> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>
>
> End of Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 12
> *****************************************
>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100727/118678ca/attachment-0001.html>


More information about the Runequest mailing list