[Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 10

Andrew bgecko at bigpond.com
Fri Jul 23 19:32:56 EST 2010


Ultimately, this is a fantasy game.

Real life doesn't apply to be honest. Otherwise I'd cast sureshot on every 
cricket ball I threw!

If you aren;t happy with 1H Spear Parry, then don't use it. In my game, 
Spear parry is perfectly acceptable. If you are looking for a video 
demontration, then the final fight scene in hellboy 2 gives some indication 
of expert spear use (I and 2 H).

My 2 cents!


----- Original Message ----- 
From: <runequest-request at rpgreview.net>
To: <runequest at rpgreview.net>
Sent: Friday, July 23, 2010 2:52 AM
Subject: Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 10


> Send Runequest mailing list submissions to
> runequest at rpgreview.net
>
> To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
> or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
> runequest-request at rpgreview.net
>
> You can reach the person managing the list at
> runequest-owner at rpgreview.net
>
> When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> than "Re: Contents of Runequest digest..."
>
>
> Today's Topics:
>
>   1. Re: Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9 (Hola Hallo)
>   2. Re: Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9 (Phil Hibbs)
>   3. Re: Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9 (Dale Long)
>   4. Re: Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9 (Sven Lugar)
>
>
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> Message: 1
> Date: Thu, 22 Jul 2010 16:42:26 +0200
> From: Hola Hallo <easysamurai at gmail.com>
> To: runequest at rpgreview.net
> Subject: Re: [Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9
> Message-ID:
> <AANLkTikxX-rajMorcbG9fU8y3c2y4sAhEu5BQNmvnXvO at mail.gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
>
> Hi everyone,
>
> Thanks *a lot* for your replies!!!  [?]
>
> However, the examples you mention of parrying with a 1H spear don't seem 
> to
> apply in the case of this character (please correct me if I'm wrong). For
> example, Bj?rn has been kind to mention how there are historic precedents 
> of
> parrying with a lance, but this elf character is basically going to fight 
> on
> foot. Sven has mentioned his own experience, but parrying with his 1H 
> spear
> was a desperate case. I mean, there doesn't seem be any precedent of
> infantry being trained to attack *and parry* with a 1H spear. Therefore, I
> think I'll go with Sven's suggestion of giving the charachter a 90% shield
> parry instead. It just seems more logical for a god such as Yelmalio to 
> give
> his worshippers proficiency in the spear-and-hoplon combat style rather 
> than
> a weird proficiency in spear parry.
>
>
>
> 2010/7/21 <runequest-request at rpgreview.net>
>
>> Send Runequest mailing list submissions to
>>        runequest at rpgreview.net
>>
>> To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
>>        http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>> or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
>>        runequest-request at rpgreview.net
>>
>> You can reach the person managing the list at
>>        runequest-owner at rpgreview.net
>>
>> When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
>> than "Re: Contents of Runequest digest..."
>>
>>
>> Today's Topics:
>>
>>   1. parrying with 1h-spear + hailing to the fatigue-rules based
>>      on reacent experience :) (Bj?rn Are St?len)
>>
>>
>> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
>>
>> Message: 1
>> Date: Tue, 20 Jul 2010 13:53:29 +0000
>> From: Bj?rn Are St?len <stolenbjorn at hotmail.com>
>> To: Rune Quest mailgruppe <runequest at rpgreview.net>
>> Subject: [Runequest] parrying with 1h-spear + hailing to the
>>        fatigue-rules based on reacent experience :)
>> Message-ID: <BAY120-W268E76A1DA9D9F71FECF64BBA00 at phx.gbl>
>> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
>>
>>
>> I see the right answer has been given allready, I just want to join in 
>> and
>> confirm that a 1h. spear is perfectly possible to parry with. Fiore di
>> Liberi even shows how you can parry a lance-attack with your own lance, 
>> it's
>> pretty much the same consept as when you do "winden" with longsword
>>
>>
>>
>> I'm just back from the re-enactmentbattle of Grunwald btw; here's a 
>> teaser
>> from polish TV http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efgKl20UK-c (the footage is
>> not from this year's event). This year about 500 000 were watching, and 
>> we
>> were about 3000 fighters on the field, 80 mounted, some 20 cannons, some 
>> 50
>> handguns, and some 100 archers on each side. The rest were fighting with
>> polearms or 1h-swords. It was 42 degrees celcius when we fought, and I've
>> now experienced in person how overheating is well reflected in the
>> encumbrance-vs-fatigue-rules in RQ3!
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>> Date: Mon, 19 Jul 2010 10:43:44 -0700
>> From: vikingjarl at gmail.com
>> To: runequest at rpgreview.net
>> Subject: Re: [Runequest] [RQ III] - Is it possible to parry with a 1H
>> spear?
>>
>> Actually from the point of view of someone who has been fighting with
>> Medieval Weapons since 1958 - Yes I can imagine it & have done it. I can
>> tell you that the specific gift was added based on me & what I 
>> demonstrated
>> during the writing of the game. Steve Perrin had watched a battle I had
>> where I had lost my left arm during an SCA melee back in the mid-70's and
>> proceeded to hold off 7 guys with just a short one-handed spear and still
>> managed to take down 3 of them before my companions came up & finished 
>> the
>> rest. Admittedly this was a very unusual case.
>>
>> So it is as you can see a very valid skill. All that being said if you so
>> desire then you could rationally limit it to "90% to attack and parry 
>> when
>> armed with 1H spear & Hoplon (cult) shield". It depends on your vision of
>> the scenario. It would be far more common for the attack to be with the
>> spear & the parry with the shield & thus the player would lose the 
>> ability
>> if not armed specifically with the cult shield & spear. How do you 
>> envision
>> it?
>>
>> Skol,
>> Sven
>>
>> On 7/19/2010 1:53 AM, Hola Hallo wrote:
>> Hi everyone,
>>
>> Last day my little brother asked me to create a RQ3 character for him. He
>> is a fan of Link, of the Zelda videogames, so he chose to create a green
>> elf. He is initiate of Aldrya and Yelmalio (Halamalao), and when he 
>> rolled
>> for the Yelmalio gift, he got the "90% to attack and parry with 1H 
>> spear".
>>
>> But, wait a second, can you imagine someone parrying attacks with a 1H
>> spear?  O_O;
>>
>> Should I change this for a 90% parry with shield?
>> Or just take the 2H-spear-90%-attack-and-parry gift instead?
>>
>> What do you think?
>>
>> _______________________________________________
>> Runequest mailing list
>> Runequest at rpgreview.net
>> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>>
>>
>> _________________________________________________________________
>> Hotmail: Free, trusted and rich email service.
>> https://signup.live.com/signup.aspx?id=60969
>> -------------- next part --------------
>> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
>> URL: <
>> http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100720/b319e7ae/attachment-0001.html
>> >
>>
>> ------------------------------
>>
>> _______________________________________________
>> Runequest mailing list
>> Runequest at rpgreview.net
>> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>>
>>
>> End of Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9
>> ****************************************
>>
> -------------- next part --------------
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> URL: 
> <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100722/5d234107/attachment-0001.html>
> -------------- next part --------------
> A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
> Name: not available
> Type: image/gif
> Size: 186 bytes
> Desc: not available
> URL: 
> <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100722/5d234107/attachment-0001.gif>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 2
> Date: Thu, 22 Jul 2010 16:07:28 +0100
> From: Phil Hibbs <snarks at gmail.com>
> To: RuneQuest Rules <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> Subject: Re: [Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9
> Message-ID:
> <AANLkTikx3oxXK6k4jd90ue1yR5tZW-Y3Z-u7mZR9AF7K at mail.gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
>
> Thinking mythically, I can see why a Gift might ignore the fact that
> Yelmalion warriors use spear-and-shield. Circular shields represent the 
> sun.
> If the rationale for the gift were based upon some myth from the Great
> Darkness, then Yelmalio would not have had a shield at the time, as the 
> sun
> was dead and so shields would be no use. Shields are used nowadays because
> the Sun is back and can therefore be called upon, but myths can often be
> out-of-date and anachronistic.
>
> Phil Hibbs.
> -- 
> Don't you just hate self-referential sigs?
> -------------- next part --------------
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> URL: 
> <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100722/0299f660/attachment-0001.html>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 3
> Date: Fri, 23 Jul 2010 00:55:51 +0930
> From: Dale Long <dtl at internode.on.net>
> To: RuneQuest Rules <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> Subject: Re: [Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9
> Message-ID: <4C4862FF.4020107 at internode.on.net>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed
>
> On 23/07/2010 12:37 AM, Phil Hibbs wrote:
>> Thinking mythically, I can see why a Gift might ignore the fact that
>> Yelmalion warriors use spear-and-shield. Circular shields represent
>> the sun. If the rationale for the gift were based upon some myth from
>> the Great Darkness, then Yelmalio would not have had a shield at the
>> time, as the sun was dead and so shields would be no use. Shields are
>> used nowadays because the Sun is back and can therefore be called
>> upon, but myths can often be out-of-date and anachronistic.
>
> Also note that spears and arrows are derived from the sun's rays (as
> described in various myths).
>
> Dale.
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 4
> Date: Thu, 22 Jul 2010 09:52:08 -0700
> From: Sven Lugar <vikingjarl at gmail.com>
> To: RuneQuest Rules <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> Subject: Re: [Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 9
> Message-ID: <4C487738.50908 at gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"; Format="flowed"
>
> Thank you, it wasn't so desperate as it was unusual, but your point is
> valid since it wasn't my first choice combination. Also remember my
> suggestion was that the 90% shield parry only applies when the character
> is armed with the cult shield (a Hoplon if I recall correctly) and 1
> handed spear together. the 90% shield parry would not apply if he was
> armed with the Hoplon and a sword, or a kite shield and a 1 handed
> spear, or any other combination. That would fit with the whole Yelmalio
> thing even though it adds a wrinkle of having to maintain two shield
> stats or arbitrarily halving the shield parry stat.
>
> Skol,
> Sven
> On 7/22/2010 7:42 AM, Hola Hallo wrote:
>> Hi everyone,
>>
>> Thanks *a lot* for your replies!!!
>>
>> However, the examples you mention of parrying with a 1H spear don't
>> seem to apply in the case of this character (please correct me if I'm
>> wrong). For example, Bj?rn has been kind to mention how there are
>> historic precedents of parrying with a lance, but this elf character
>> is basically going to fight on foot. Sven has mentioned his own
>> experience, but parrying with his 1H spear was a desperate case. I
>> mean, there doesn't seem be any precedent of infantry being trained to
>> attack /and parry/ with a 1H spear. Therefore, I think I'll go with
>> Sven's suggestion of giving the charachter a 90% shield parry instead.
>> It just seems more logical for a god such as Yelmalio to give his
>> worshippers proficiency in the spear-and-hoplon combat style rather
>> than a weird proficiency in spear parry.
>>
>>
>>
>> 2010/7/21 <runequest-request at rpgreview.net
>> <mailto:runequest-request at rpgreview.net>>
>>
>>     Send Runequest mailing list submissions to
>>     runequest at rpgreview.net <mailto:runequest at rpgreview.net>
>>
>>     To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
>>     http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>>     or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
>>     runequest-request at rpgreview.net
>>     <mailto:runequest-request at rpgreview.net>
>>
>>     You can reach the person managing the list at
>>     runequest-owner at rpgreview.net <mailto:runequest-owner at rpgreview.net>
>>
>>     When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
>>     than "Re: Contents of Runequest digest..."
>>
>>
>>     Today's Topics:
>>
>>       1. parrying with 1h-spear + hailing to the fatigue-rules based
>>          on reacent experience :) (Bj?rn Are St?len)
>>
>>
>>     ----------------------------------------------------------------------
>>
>>     Message: 1
>>     Date: Tue, 20 Jul 2010 13:53:29 +0000
>>     From: Bj?rn Are St?len <stolenbjorn at hotmail.com
>>     <mailto:stolenbjorn at hotmail.com>>
>>     To: Rune Quest mailgruppe <runequest at rpgreview.net
>>     <mailto:runequest at rpgreview.net>>
>>     Subject: [Runequest] parrying with 1h-spear + hailing to the
>>            fatigue-rules based on reacent experience :)
>>     Message-ID: <BAY120-W268E76A1DA9D9F71FECF64BBA00 at phx.gbl>
>>     Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
>>
>>
>>     I see the right answer has been given allready, I just want to
>>     join in and confirm that a 1h. spear is perfectly possible to
>>     parry with. Fiore di Liberi even shows how you can parry a
>>     lance-attack with your own lance, it's pretty much the same
>>     consept as when you do "winden" with longsword
>>
>>
>>
>>     I'm just back from the re-enactmentbattle of Grunwald btw; here's
>>     a teaser from polish TV http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efgKl20UK-c
>>     (the footage is not from this year's event). This year about 500
>>     000 were watching, and we were about 3000 fighters on the field,
>>     80 mounted, some 20 cannons, some 50 handguns, and some 100
>>     archers on each side. The rest were fighting with polearms or
>>     1h-swords. It was 42 degrees celcius when we fought, and I've now
>>     experienced in person how overheating is well reflected in the
>>     encumbrance-vs-fatigue-rules in RQ3!
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>     Date: Mon, 19 Jul 2010 10:43:44 -0700
>>     From: vikingjarl at gmail.com <mailto:vikingjarl at gmail.com>
>>     To: runequest at rpgreview.net <mailto:runequest at rpgreview.net>
>>     Subject: Re: [Runequest] [RQ III] - Is it possible to parry with a
>>     1H spear?
>>
>>     Actually from the point of view of someone who has been fighting
>>     with Medieval Weapons since 1958 - Yes I can imagine it & have
>>     done it. I can tell you that the specific gift was added based on
>>     me & what I demonstrated during the writing of the game. Steve
>>     Perrin had watched a battle I had where I had lost my left arm
>>     during an SCA melee back in the mid-70's and proceeded to hold off
>>     7 guys with just a short one-handed spear and still managed to
>>     take down 3 of them before my companions came up & finished the
>>     rest. Admittedly this was a very unusual case.
>>
>>     So it is as you can see a very valid skill. All that being said if
>>     you so desire then you could rationally limit it to "90% to attack
>>     and parry when armed with 1H spear & Hoplon (cult) shield". It
>>     depends on your vision of the scenario. It would be far more
>>     common for the attack to be with the spear & the parry with the
>>     shield & thus the player would lose the ability if not armed
>>     specifically with the cult shield & spear. How do you envision it?
>>
>>     Skol,
>>     Sven
>>
>>     On 7/19/2010 1:53 AM, Hola Hallo wrote:
>>     Hi everyone,
>>
>>     Last day my little brother asked me to create a RQ3 character for
>>     him. He is a fan of Link, of the Zelda videogames, so he chose to
>>     create a green elf. He is initiate of Aldrya and Yelmalio
>>     (Halamalao), and when he rolled for the Yelmalio gift, he got the
>>     "90% to attack and parry with 1H spear".
>>
>>     But, wait a second, can you imagine someone parrying attacks with
>>     a 1H spear?  O_O;
>>
>>     Should I change this for a 90% parry with shield?
>>     Or just take the 2H-spear-90%-attack-and-parry gift instead?
>>
>>     What do you think?
>>
>
> -------------- next part --------------
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> URL: 
> <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100722/a36fb297/attachment.html>
> -------------- next part --------------
> A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
> Name: not available
> Type: image/gif
> Size: 186 bytes
> Desc: not available
> URL: 
> <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100722/a36fb297/attachment.gif>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> _______________________________________________
> Runequest mailing list
> Runequest at rpgreview.net
> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>
>
> End of Runequest Digest, Vol 27, Issue 10
> ***************************************** 




More information about the Runequest mailing list