[Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 28, Issue 7

harry woolley harryw1602 at yahoo.co.uk
Sat Aug 28 19:31:03 EST 2010


hi thanks for your reploy,when i say sweep i mean you have 3 or more targets in front of you and you want to hit them all in one sweeping action by sliceing in a sweeping across them and hiting them all this is the way they do it in d&d d20 so im told .you know connon does it all the time and buffy.
                                      harry

--- On Sat, 28/8/10, runequest-request at rpgreview.net <runequest-request at rpgreview.net> wrote:


From: runequest-request at rpgreview.net <runequest-request at rpgreview.net>
Subject: Runequest Digest, Vol 28, Issue 7
To: runequest at rpgreview.net
Date: Saturday, 28 August, 2010, 3:00


Send Runequest mailing list submissions to
    runequest at rpgreview.net

To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
    http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
    runequest-request at rpgreview.net

You can reach the person managing the list at
    runequest-owner at rpgreview.net

When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
than "Re: Contents of Runequest digest..."


Today's Topics:

   1. Re: a sweep with a wpn as in d&d (Bj?rn Are St?len)
   2. Re: a sweep with a wpn as in d&d (Phil Hibbs)
   3. Re: a sweep with a wpn as in d&d (Lev Lafayette)


----------------------------------------------------------------------

Message: 1
Date: Fri, 27 Aug 2010 17:53:07 +0000
From: Bj?rn Are St?len <stolenbjorn at hotmail.com>
To: Rune Quest mailgruppe <runequest at rpgreview.net>
Subject: Re: [Runequest] a sweep with a wpn as in d&d
Message-ID: <BAY120-W27E589BBA398D6BB5D942BB860 at phx.gbl>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"


As I come to think of it, there is some rule where you do less damage, and get some pluss to hit, but that is a sweep (vertical cut/swing) against one opponent, I think (I'm still talking about rq3, and I don't know if this is some house-rule, or somthing I have actually read from the rule-book). If you want to go for that rule, I would add that the opponent get the same plus on his percentage to parry/counterattack, as my experience with longsword-duelling with metal blunts is that vertical cuts are somewhat easier to counter. 


From: stolenbjorn at hotmail.com
To: runequest at rpgreview.net
Date: Fri, 27 Aug 2010 17:46:07 +0000
Subject: Re: [Runequest] a sweep with a wpn as in d&d




Sweeping; what do you mean? Any cut is a sweep-movement, the most effective usually beeing diagonal sweeps, but some horizontal sweeps are allso depictured in european medieval longsword-manuals. The vertical sweep is practiced by the katanaists (shinto ryu kenjutsu), but I don't know much about that.

I know there is a sweep-attak for gigants and similarily huge creatures in RQ3, used if some gigant uses a flag-pole, tree, etc, to sweep an area to crush anybody in the sector.

If your players want similar rules for human sized people, I advise against it (unless you explain it with magically super-weapons, or super-strength -or if the characters are fighting naked rats or somthing equally small; and if that is the case, I guess scaled-down version of the gigant-rule can be applied).
Why?
-If you fight with a blade and tries to sweep several opponents, it's all but impossible to get all of them lined up perfectly, if one of them stand too close, the weapon will stop in that person. If the blade is ultramegamonstersharp and all the opponents are completely naked, and if you get them to stand still in a perfect distance to where you will perform your "sweep", I guess it's possible to be able to cut many opponents.


Date: Fri, 27 Aug 2010 13:56:29 +0000
From: harryw1602 at yahoo.co.uk
To: runequest at rpgreview.net
Subject: [Runequest] a sweep with a wpn as in d&d





hi alot of my players are d&d players and keep asking me to work on a rule for sweeping the enmy with their wpns is there a rule im missing i carn,t find one could one of you inlighten me.

_______________________________________________ Runequest mailing list Runequest at rpgreview.net http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net 
_______________________________________________ Runequest mailing list Runequest at rpgreview.net http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net                           
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100827/88742254/attachment-0001.html>

------------------------------

Message: 2
Date: Fri, 27 Aug 2010 18:56:52 +0100
From: Phil Hibbs <snarks at gmail.com>
To: RuneQuest Rules <runequest at rpgreview.net>
Subject: Re: [Runequest] a sweep with a wpn as in d&d
Message-ID:
    <AANLkTim_7a=GbznDh_EQVFoGKaMGNCxW7oGZ8NF_ccKx at mail.gmail.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"

I thought he meant firing missile weapons into a group

Phil
-- 
Don't you just hate self-referential sigs?


2010/8/27 Bj?rn Are St?len <stolenbjorn at hotmail.com>

>  Sweeping; what do you mean? Any cut is a sweep-movement, the
> most effective usually beeing diagonal sweeps, but some horizontal sweeps
> are allso depictured in european medieval longsword-manuals. The
> vertical sweep is practiced by the katanaists (shinto ryu kenjutsu), but I
> don't know much about that.
>
> I know there is a sweep-attak for gigants and similarily huge creatures in
> RQ3, used if some gigant uses a flag-pole, tree, etc, to sweep an area to
> crush anybody in the sector.
>
> If your players want similar rules for human sized people, I advise against
> it (unless you explain it with magically super-weapons, or super-strength
> -or if the characters are fighting naked rats or somthing equally small; and
> if that is the case, I guess scaled-down version of the gigant-rule can be
> applied).
> Why?
> -If you fight with a blade and tries to sweep several opponents, it's all
> but impossible to get all of them lined up perfectly, if one of them stand
> too close, the weapon will stop in that person. If the blade is
> ultramegamonstersharp and all the opponents are completely naked, and if you
> get them to stand still in a perfect distance to where you will perform your
> "sweep", I guess it's possible to be able to cut many opponents.
> ------------------------------
> Date: Fri, 27 Aug 2010 13:56:29 +0000
> From: harryw1602 at yahoo.co.uk
> To: runequest at rpgreview.net
> Subject: [Runequest] a sweep with a wpn as in d&d
>
>
>   hi alot of my players are d&d players and keep asking me to work on a
> rule for sweeping the enmy with their wpns is there a rule im missing i
> carn,t find one could one of you inlighten me.
>
> _______________________________________________ Runequest mailing list
> Runequest at rpgreview.net
> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>
> _______________________________________________
> Runequest mailing list
> Runequest at rpgreview.net
> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>
>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100827/cb2e2a4d/attachment-0001.html>

------------------------------

Message: 3
Date: Sat, 28 Aug 2010 10:18:16 +1000
From: Lev Lafayette <lev at rpgreview.net>
To: RuneQuest Rules <runequest at rpgreview.net>
Subject: Re: [Runequest] a sweep with a wpn as in d&d
Message-ID: <1282954696.2447.89.camel at squirrel>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="UTF-8"

On Fri, 2010-08-27 at 13:56 +0000, harry woolley wrote:
> hi alot of my players are d&d players and keep asking me to work on a
> rule for sweeping the enmy with their wpns is there a rule im missing
> i carn,t find one could one of you inlighten me.
> 

I believe your D&D friends are referring to the Cleave and Great Cleave
Feats from D&D3.x, where an attacker can hit multiple opponents in a
single round if you kill one.

Like all D&D Feats it's pretty trivial to translate that into MRQ terms.
Simply allow it as per D&D (if you kill an adjacent opponent you get
another attack) and use Strength 15, Hero Points 10 as prerequisites.




------------------------------

_______________________________________________
Runequest mailing list
Runequest at rpgreview.net
http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net


End of Runequest Digest, Vol 28, Issue 7
****************************************



      
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20100828/e2893658/attachment.html>


More information about the Runequest mailing list