[Runequest] Murder Mystery

Hola Hallo easysamurai at gmail.com
Thu Aug 20 20:10:42 EST 2009


Hi Tony,

I am intrigued about your Murder Mystery and I think somethink like this
would pose a very nice change of pace for my campaign.
Would you mind sharing that scenario of yours so that I could run it for my
players (pleeease)?  :-)

2009/8/18 <runequest-request at rpgreview.net>

> Send Runequest mailing list submissions to
>        runequest at rpgreview.net
>
> To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
>        http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
> or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
>        runequest-request at rpgreview.net
>
> You can reach the person managing the list at
>        runequest-owner at rpgreview.net
>
> When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> than "Re: Contents of Runequest digest..."
>
>
> Today's Topics:
>
>   1. Murder Mystery (Tony)
>   2. Re: Murder Mystery (Roger Benham)
>   3. Re: Armor Question in RQ3 (Hibbs, Phil)
>   4. Re: strickranks (Hibbs, Phil)
>   5. Re: Armor Question in RQ3 (Styopa)
>   6. Fwd:  strickranks (Styopa)
>   7. Spirit combat - lots and lots and lots of questions. (Styopa)
>
>
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> Message: 1
> Date: Tue, 18 Aug 2009 06:44:37 +0200 (SAST)
> From: "Tony" <postmaster at runequest.za.org>
> Subject: [Runequest] Murder Mystery
> To: runequest at rpgreview.net
> Message-ID:
>        <32569.41.208.50.160.1250570677.squirrel at wwm.runequest.za.org>
> Content-Type: text/plain;charset=iso-8859-1
>
> I know this is hardley a new subject for an adventure, but I had my
> palyesr tackle a murder mystery last weekend. It was actually quite
> enjoyble, a different tack from the usual military campaign I am running.
> That plus it was one of the NPC soldiers under the characters who was
> implicated.
>
> I cannot deny I got a kick out of a primitive who has worked hard to
> become semi civilised plus a viking type housecarl running about trying to
> find witnesses and delay the lawspeakers decision:)
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 2
> Date: Tue, 18 Aug 2009 12:17:37 +0100
> From: Roger Benham <rog_benham at hotmail.com>
> Subject: Re: [Runequest] Murder Mystery
> To: <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> Message-ID: <COL117-W32740AD32E65492C400B8FE7FF0 at phx.gbl>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="windows-1252"
>
>
> I know the feeling of just how rewarding it is changing the thrust of a
> campaign: I once had the players gather in the year's taxes, dealing with
> evasive, duplicituous and conniving farmers and peasants who had the
> temerity to (a) defraud the crown of its royal fifth and (b) keep enough
> food to stay alive.  The players still talk about it as one of the best
> things they ever did, so clearly the change of pace works!
>
> > Date: Tue, 18 Aug 2009 06:44:37 +0200
> > From: postmaster at runequest.za.org
> > To: runequest at rpgreview.net
> > Subject: [Runequest] Murder Mystery
> >
> > I know this is hardley a new subject for an adventure, but I had my
> > palyesr tackle a murder mystery last weekend. It was actually quite
> > enjoyble, a different tack from the usual military campaign I am running.
> > That plus it was one of the NPC soldiers under the characters who was
> > implicated.
> >
> > I cannot deny I got a kick out of a primitive who has worked hard to
> > become semi civilised plus a viking type housecarl running about trying
> to
> > find witnesses and delay the lawspeakers decision:)
> >
> > _______________________________________________
> > Runequest mailing list
> > Runequest at rpgreview.net
> > http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>
> _________________________________________________________________
> Windows Live Messenger: Happy 10-Year Anniversary?get free winks and
> emoticons.
> http://clk.atdmt.com/UKM/go/157562755/direct/01/
> -------------- next part --------------
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> URL: <
> http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20090818/92163dc0/attachment-0001.html
> >
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 3
> Date: Tue, 18 Aug 2009 13:57:03 +0100
> From: "Hibbs, Phil" <phil.hibbs at capgemini.com>
> Subject: Re: [Runequest] Armor Question in RQ3
> To: "RuneQuest Rules" <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> Message-ID:
>        <
> 28FEE77FA0D069428DBB715915864EE61071F954 at MISSBHXVS02.uki.capgemini.com>
>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
>
> Tony:
> >what did
> >Julius Ceasar document himself wearing in Alesia in his Galica
> >autobiography?
>
> I DON'T EVEN KNOW WHERE ALESIA IS!
>
> Phil Hibbs.
> --
> Capgemini is a trading name used by the Capgemini Group of
> companies which includes Capgemini UK plc, a company registered in
> England and Wales (number 943935) whose registered office is at No.
> 1 Forge End, Woking, Surrey, GU21 6DB
>
>
>
>
>
>
> This message contains information that may be privileged or confidential
> and is the property of the Capgemini Group. It is
> intended only for the person to whom it is addressed. If you are not the
> intended recipient, you are not authorized to
> read, print, retain, copy, disseminate, distribute, or use this message or
> any part thereof. If you receive this message
> in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete all copies of
> this message.
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 4
> Date: Tue, 18 Aug 2009 15:39:20 +0100
> From: "Hibbs, Phil" <phil.hibbs at capgemini.com>
> Subject: Re: [Runequest] strickranks
> To: "RuneQuest Rules" <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> Message-ID:
>        <
> 28FEE77FA0D069428DBB715915864EE61071FBFF at MISSBHXVS02.uki.capgemini.com>
>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
>
> >I find it ironic that the inventor of strike ranks now eschews them.
>
> That was years ago. Times change.
>
> >Personally I find they work quite well, and keep the combat
> > advantages of initiative down to character STATs and weapon
> > and armor choices. For me the more luck taken out of initiative
> > the better.
>
> Doesn't it seem odd that a tiny difference between characters can make the
> difference between always being hit first, and always hitting first? Then
> again, first-mover advantage isn't that huge as there are no wound
> penalties.
>
> Phil Hibbs.
> Capgemini is a trading name used by the Capgemini Group of
> companies which includes Capgemini UK plc, a company registered in
> England and Wales (number 943935) whose registered office is at No.
> 1 Forge End, Woking, Surrey, GU21 6DB
>
>
>
>
>
>
> This message contains information that may be privileged or confidential
> and is the property of the Capgemini Group. It is
> intended only for the person to whom it is addressed. If you are not the
> intended recipient, you are not authorized to
> read, print, retain, copy, disseminate, distribute, or use this message or
> any part thereof. If you receive this message
> in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete all copies of
> this message.
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 5
> Date: Tue, 18 Aug 2009 10:01:42 -0500
> From: Styopa <styopa1 at gmail.com>
> Subject: Re: [Runequest] Armor Question in RQ3
> To: RuneQuest Rules <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> Message-ID:
>        <56e64e7a0908180801g288d3a26y592568935ffbc39b at mail.gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
>
> On Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 7:57 AM, Hibbs, Phil <phil.hibbs at capgemini.com
> >wrote:
>
> > Tony:
> > >what did
> > >Julius Ceasar document himself wearing in Alesia in his Galica
> > >autobiography?
> >
> > I DON'T EVEN KNOW WHERE ALESIA IS!
> >
> > Phil Hibbs.
> > --
>
>
> At first I thought you were serious.  Then I got the Asterix reference.
> -------------- next part --------------
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> URL: <
> http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20090818/cd8e6d28/attachment-0001.html
> >
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 6
> Date: Tue, 18 Aug 2009 10:05:16 -0500
> From: Styopa <styopa1 at gmail.com>
> Subject: [Runequest] Fwd:  strickranks
> To: RuneQuest Rules <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> Message-ID:
>        <56e64e7a0908180805s7bffd915o2006a24bef50b79a at mail.gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
>
>  >>Personally I find they work quite well, and keep the combat
> >> advantages of initiative down to character STATs and weapon
> >> and armor choices. For me the more luck taken out of initiative
> >> the better.
> >
> >Doesn't it seem odd that a tiny difference between characters can make the
> >difference between always being hit first, and always hitting first? Then
> >again, first-mover advantage isn't that huge as there are no wound
> >penalties.
> >
> >Phil Hibbs.
>
> Aside from the minor ability to kill/disable someone before they can reply.
> But Yeah, that's why IMO initiative systems ALWAYS have to have a random
> element.  Nobody should know FOR CERTAIN that they will be able to draw the
> gun/swing the sword/kiss the girl before someone else; you might be 'pretty
> sure' or 'darn near positive' but never 100%.
> -------------- next part --------------
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> URL: <
> http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20090818/b9b53f38/attachment-0001.html
> >
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 7
> Date: Tue, 18 Aug 2009 11:04:31 -0500
> From: Styopa <styopa1 at gmail.com>
> Subject: [Runequest] Spirit combat - lots and lots and lots of
>        questions.
> To: RuneQuest Rules <runequest at rpgreview.net>
> Message-ID:
>        <56e64e7a0908180904k153adf70s38e6f6b131119872 at mail.gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
>
> OK, despite being a long time RQ player, spirit combat has never been
> something we used much.  In retrospect that seems odd, because spirits are
> such a big thing in RQ/Glorantha.
>
> Nobody ever really played shamans, and while occasionally someone would run
> up against a spirit in a published module, the resolution of these fights
> was so problematic that I tended to veer away from them whenever possible.
> People would use their allied spirits etc just as spell storage/mana
> batteries.
>
> Now I've had a long running campaign and my lack of understanding here is
> starting to become more apparent.  I think I *must* be doing it wrong
> (because spirit combat seems really lopsided - either nearly trivial or
> super-lethal), and would appreciate some advice / answers from the
> assembled
> worthies.  We're using RQ3, but I have lots and lots of house rules so
> don't
> be afraid to offer something that works regardless of system.  I've tried
> to
> break these piles of questions into general groups.
>
> 1) RQ3 says a spirit has to materialize to attack a mundane creature (ie a
> character), and this takes a round.  Does that mean that essentially the
> players get a free round of swinging at it while it's materializing?  What
> are it's hp in material form?  It seems that if we postulate that it's MP
> are it's HP, spirits will never really successfully attack ANYTHING, since
> they have no armor and a couple of decent sword whacks by any schlub will
> put paid to even a strong 16POW spirit.  Further, this just seems odd,
> since
> my conceptualization of spirits would be that thwhacking at them with
> swords
> and clubs seems like it shouldn't affect them at all.
>
> 2) As I understand it, spirit combat in its most basic form is MP vs MP for
> the success chance, a success draining 1d3 mp from the target.  Both the
> attacker and defender roll simultaneously, the effects to each are applied
> before the next 'round'.  Both sides keep it up until one or the other is
> drained of MP.  Each round, the 'success chance' for each opponent is
> recalculated.   How fast does this occur?  Does each "round" of spirit
> combat take the same time as a "round" of melee?  Do the drained MP
> actually
> go away, or is that just a handy mechanic to use to measure resistance to
> possession?  I'd presume you use current MP, but that would have the
> contrarian effect of making heavy magic-users MORE vulnerable to spirits,
> because they'd be spending their MP.  It seems odd that Gandalf, exhausted
> from casting a bunch of spells (and down to a handful of MP), could be be
> easily possessed by some puny POW 12 ghost passing by.  What about disease
> spirits, who 'attack' a targets stat (like CON), do they then still burn MP
> away?  That would seem odd, too.
>
> 3) How fast does a spirit move?  If they have to incorporate to attack, are
> they considered flying while corporeal?  Can you really 'run away' from a
> spirit attack?  What if you're on a horse or something else fast?  What
> other physical actions can a character perform while they are in spirit
> combat?  In the sense of '2 actions per character, attack, parry, or dodge'
> system, would we consider 'make a spirit attack' as one of them?  Could
> they, for example, make a spirit attack and dodge a spear?  Are there any
> modifiers to spirit attack success?  I can't imagine physical position
> would
> batter (ie attacking from above/behind) but what about target sleeping?
> Befuddled?  Demoralized?
>
> 4) can someone else help someone resist a spirit attack?  My understanding
> is that only spirits and shaman's fetches can initiate spirit combat, so by
> my ruling, no, another mundane character COULDN'T 'attack' an attacking
> spirit, they can only get involved when a spirit attacks them first.
>
> 5) a disease spirit, do they just 'carry' the disease, or are they ACTUALLY
> the disease (ie if they possess someone, they get the disease, but what if
> the spirit leaves to attack someone else?  Does the first victim still have
> the disease?)
>
> 6) if a character dies, what happens to his allied spirit?  Does it go away
> too?  Does it (if in combat) continue to fight to help their master's group
> in hopes that maybe their master could be saved/rezzed?  What if it's in an
> inanimate object like a storm bull's helmet?  In this example, what in
> particular would a Humakt spirit do - rezzing being prohibited by prior
> geas?
>
> 7) Rune Lords and Priests can cast spells through their allied spirits, who
> are intelligent.  I'd presume that this means that each - the Rune Lord and
> the spirit - get to declare independent actions for the upcoming round.
> Could they both cast the same spell in the same round?  If the RL casts a
> spell 'through' the spirit, does this use the spirit's action for that
> round
> too?  Can the allied spirit cast the whole repertoire of the character's
> spells?  What if the character is unconscious?  Dead?  Divine magic too?
> Does it matter whether the allied spirit's INT is 'holding' the spell or
> the
> character for any reason?  What if the allied spirit's inhabited body gets
> obliterated? (I'm thinking about a Chalana Arroy priestess with a butterfly
> who walks through a warding spell...zzzt, dead butterfly, no?)
>
> Lots and lots and lots of questions, as I said.
>
> Thanks for any advice.  :)
> -------------- next part --------------
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> URL: <
> http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20090818/40d89b9a/attachment.html
> >
>
> ------------------------------
>
> _______________________________________________
> Runequest mailing list
> Runequest at rpgreview.net
> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>
>
> End of Runequest Digest, Vol 16, Issue 9
> ****************************************
>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20090820/2e248d59/attachment-0001.html>


More information about the Runequest mailing list