[Runequest] Runequest Digest, Vol 13, Issue 6

harry woolley harryw1602 at yahoo.co.uk
Wed Apr 8 19:54:05 EST 2009


hi, thanks all for your help,ive made up my mind i will tell him to 
carry on with is hitting folks with is axe,just like any wolves fan would do.
                                                                     harry,the baggy

--- On Wed, 8/4/09, runequest-request at rpgreview.net <runequest-request at rpgreview.net> wrote:


From: runequest-request at rpgreview.net <runequest-request at rpgreview.net>
Subject: Runequest Digest, Vol 13, Issue 6
To: runequest at rpgreview.net
Date: Wednesday, 8 April, 2009, 3:00 AM


Send Runequest mailing list submissions to
    runequest at rpgreview.net

To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
    http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
    runequest-request at rpgreview.net

You can reach the person managing the list at
    runequest-owner at rpgreview.net

When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
than "Re: Contents of Runequest digest..."


Today's Topics:

   1. Re: RQ3 strike rank question (Tony)
   2. Re: barbarian to wizard (Tony)
   3. [RQ III] Mounted Combat and Riding Generally (Tony)
   4. Re: barbarian to wizard (Mechashef)
   5. Re: RQ3 strike rank question (Wayne Shaw)


----------------------------------------------------------------------

Message: 1
Date: Tue, 7 Apr 2009 06:58:14 +0200 (SAST)
From: "Tony" <postmaster at runequest.za.org>
Subject: Re: [Runequest] RQ3 strike rank question
To: "RuneQuest Rules" <runequest at rpgreview.net>
Message-ID:
    <9180.41.208.48.176.1239080294.squirrel at wwm.runequest.za.org>
Content-Type: text/plain;charset=iso-8859-1

Styopa wrote:

>
> The question is then, how do you properly and reasonably account for the
> idea of someone quicker than another?   idea I had was to use an old
table from Star Fleet Battles - the impulse chart. (example here
> http://www.seeyouinspace.org.uk/library/impulsechart.zip).  Essentially
> then<snip>

Another option is to try something like the Silent Death starrship game,
where movement works in terms of how far one can go (translate how fast
you are) and initiative lost has the looser moving first, allows a fast
initiative winner to get the drop, come up behind their opponent etc.
Tony



------------------------------

Message: 2
Date: Tue, 7 Apr 2009 07:01:59 +0200 (SAST)
From: "Tony" <postmaster at runequest.za.org>
Subject: Re: [Runequest] barbarian to wizard
To: "RuneQuest Rules" <runequest at rpgreview.net>
Message-ID:
    <50560.41.208.48.176.1239080519.squirrel at wwm.runequest.za.org>
Content-Type: text/plain;charset=iso-8859-1

Agreed, I like to play that just because a character starts as one
culture, if he so desires and interacts he can become another, typical,lly
a barbarian staying in a civilised city and taking on civilised ways and
whiles, which in turn would allow him to become a wizard if you want to
stick with what culture can do what magic.
Tony


Leon Kirshtein wrote:
> Sure, if he can find a teacher willing to teach him.
>
> --- On Mon, 4/6/09, harry woolley <harryw1602 at yahoo.co.uk> wrote:
>
> From: harry woolley <harryw1602 at yahoo.co.uk>
> Subject: [Runequest] barbarian to wizard
> To: Runequest at rpgreview.net
> Date: Monday, April 6, 2009, 6:10 AM
>
> one of my pc wants to know if his barbarian can become a wizard or any
> other
> type of magic he can use, i carn,t? find anything any where,that says he
> can.
> i play the newist addition,
> ??????????????????????????????????? harry,north east club,newbiggan
>
>
>
>
>
> -----Inline Attachment Follows-----
>
> _______________________________________________
> Runequest mailing list
> Runequest at rpgreview.net
> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>
>
>
>       _______________________________________________
> Runequest mailing list
> Runequest at rpgreview.net
> http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
>




------------------------------

Message: 3
Date: Tue, 7 Apr 2009 07:16:23 +0200 (SAST)
From: "Tony" <postmaster at runequest.za.org>
Subject: [Runequest] [RQ III] Mounted Combat and Riding Generally
To: runequest at rpgreview.net
Message-ID:
    <54441.41.208.48.176.1239081383.squirrel at wwm.runequest.za.org>
Content-Type: text/plain;charset=iso-8859-1

Hi All
My ongoing military campaign hareached a milestone. My brother, whose
character is a primitive who got board of mountain goat hunting and went
to see the shining cities of the world ended up in the legion and afer
many years training and campaigning became a centurion and won/assisted
with some key battles.

Well, enough history, he has announced that him and his century (whats
left of it) are tired of foot slogging and want to try out becoming a
mounted unit. This can be done in terms of the world I am playing, but
here is the question. Assuming the select few who are chosen get sorted
with cavalry horses and get some decent training, I would rule that ride
rolls are a moot point unless a specifically difficult activity is
performed, maybe jumping over a ravine or a big hedge, or doing sudden
wheels and/or dressage type kicks. Fine and good, but what about combat, I
was thinking rather than to bog down with specifics, to have them make a
ride roll before going into combat that would cover the whole engagement,
thats unless I have something nasty up my sleeve, such as prepared ground
with ditches etc. Being a basically lazy GM, I hope this will cover it
without becoming too leborious to keep track of.

Cheers
Tony



------------------------------

Message: 4
Date: Tue, 7 Apr 2009 15:17:53 +1000
From: "Mechashef" <mechashef at emailme.net.au>
Subject: Re: [Runequest] barbarian to wizard
To: "RuneQuest Rules" <runequest at rpgreview.net>
Message-ID: <0481757AA4FE48F38C61B2D065FFF873 at DellLaptop>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"

That depends.

If you are playing in Glorantha, then you are largely bound by the rules of that campaign world.  It would be very rare for a Barbarian to become a wizard (sorcerer?) but a good GM can justify all sorts of unusual things.

If you are playing in your own campaign world, then do as you want.

As was posted before, the big issue is how good a sorcerer your barabarian can be.  Low level sorcerers are not very good at magic.  It takes lots of time to build up the appropriate skills (spells and spell altering ones) to the point where the sorcerer is useful as a spell caster.

This is usually worked around by using the occupations and perhaps having the sorcerer older than most other starting adventurers.  Having a character swap over from another magic system to sorcery will, in most cases result in a hamstrung character (in most but not all campaign worlds) for quite a while.

One other issue is that to start learning sorcery spells, the character may be forced by his teacher/s to forget all spirit and divine spells he has.  Also, the gods/spirits etc that provided him withb his Divine/Spirit magic may get a bit upset if he learns sorcery.  Especially if the character is an initiate or higher in a cult, he may have an interesting experience with a spirit of retribution.  Of course this depends on you campaign world.

But remember, it is you campain.  You can do what you want.  
  ----- Original Message ----- 
  From: harry woolley 
  To: Runequest at rpgreview.net 
  Sent: Monday, April 06, 2009 8:10 PM
  Subject: [Runequest] barbarian to wizard


        one of my pc wants to know if his barbarian can become a wizard or any other 
        type of magic he can use, i carn,t  find anything any where,that says he can.
        i play the newist addition,
                                            harry,north east club,newbiggan 




------------------------------------------------------------------------------


  _______________________________________________
  Runequest mailing list
  Runequest at rpgreview.net
  http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20090407/20425b47/attachment-0001.html>

------------------------------

Message: 5
Date: Tue, 07 Apr 2009 09:09:21 -0700
From: Wayne Shaw <shaw at caprica.com>
Subject: Re: [Runequest] RQ3 strike rank question
To: RuneQuest Rules <runequest at rpgreview.net>
Message-ID: <7.0.1.0.1.20090407090843.0349f938 at caprica.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"; format=flowed


>Thing is, RQ was never meant to be more complicated than D&D. For 
>all I played RQ3 to death for over 10 years, in retrospect I think 
>it goes down a lot of blind alleys. Both the new BRP and MRQ attempt 
>to regain the roll and play nature of RQ that, I personally, prefer.

Well, it kind of was, really, because D&D, especially at the time RQ 
was written, was simple to the point of, frankly, stupidity.




------------------------------

_______________________________________________
Runequest mailing list
Runequest at rpgreview.net
http://rpgreview.net/mailman/listinfo/runequest_rpgreview.net


End of Runequest Digest, Vol 13, Issue 6
****************************************



      
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://rpgreview.net/pipermail/runequest_rpgreview.net/attachments/20090408/70876ea3/attachment.html>


More information about the Runequest mailing list